Still Breathing (Although Heavily)

It’s been a while. There’s something I wanted to write a long time ago, but I don’t feel like doing it now either. It’s about doing the impossible. Or better yet, what everyone else knows it’s impossible. Well, not entirely.πŸ˜‰ Nevermind, it’s personal and I don’t talk about it that easily, I just act on it. Let’s rather talk about work, that’s what we workoholics like to do. Β 

Anyway, I’m starting a big and beautiful (that’s how I imagine it) feature for National Geographic Slovenia, while the running feature (which will go on for another half a year) is producing some very nice images. On top of that, I will be visiting an old town a bit nearer than usual for NG Traveler next month. And as for other photojournalism – well, it’s Austria again. Pretty nice things. One very important for me.Β 

And yes, it’s summer finally. Someone turned off the shower and cold, switched to 33 degrees celcius in a day or two. Fine with me, puts me off food. I don’t eat when I’m half-cooked. But I guess I’ll have to start going to bed earlier (it cools down a notch in the evening). :DΒ 

Take care everybody, wherever you are…

6 thoughts on “Still Breathing (Although Heavily)

  1. Hi! Great blog – very impressive photographs. Just wondering how you fell into photojournalism and what advice you could give to someone (ME) who would want to go into that direction as well as travel photography? Loaded question, eh?!

  2. Thanks! Well, to be honest, I don’t quite remember how it happened. I guess the idea chrystalized when I started working for a fishing magazine. It was just for kicks, but it then grew into something a lot bigger. Since I am/was also a writer, I went to study journalism and that’s where I decided for photojournalism.
    My advice: develop a sense of documenting history and meaning in your photography. Follow important or interesting topics and events. Including in travel photography. Don’t do just a country as a whole, because it’s a lot of that around. Find something special there, a story, and take the country as a whole as a frame.
    It’s a lot of work. Especially when you realize you need to go beyond others, above the avarage… Discouraging sometimes, but… well, ups and downs, I guess.
    Take care.

  3. Thanks for taking the time to help me out. I too have a degree in journalism – which I have not used in the last 15 years… I enjoy writing as well as photography, but my preference goes to documenting people’s daily life. I attempted to do so on my blog with Paris and St. Croix, but I’m not sure who would be interested in that kind of non-event “reporting.”
    Do you work on assignments mostly or do you finance your trips yourself then sell the stories when you get back? See, I have no clue how this whole business works.
    Again, thanks for having taken the time to advise me.

  4. No problem! I think that kind of photography is needed more and more. Lifestyle is popular in many mainstream magazines. And perhaps you don’t see it, but among your photographs of Paris for example, you have stories. And again, depends on the topic, but I think there’s got to be someone who’d publish it.

    Hm… I do both. For Traveler, my trips around Slovenia are suggested by the editor, others I suggest myself. I also use every travel to make a feature later, and offer them to the editors.
    As for magazines financing trips… Well, small country, no prospects, no future for photographers, and very little respect for photography. Therefore, no, our magazines do not pay trips. If they do, well, it’s once in a blue moon.πŸ˜€

  5. Well, that’s encouraging! No respect. No money. What else? Do they beat you up with a big stick too, once in a while, just for good measure?

    You even have more merit for producing such great images.

    I’ll just continue looking for my fit in the world of photography, and perhaps, once I find it, things will fall in place on the financial side of things. It’s either that or the sugar daddy.

    Thank you SO MUCH for your insight. I am amazed when complete strangers take some of their valuable time to make my world a better place. You ROCK!

  6. πŸ˜€ Not yet. Standard’s too low, they don’t want extra expenses to buy strong enough stisks.πŸ˜€

    Well, eventually, all you have to do is insist in what you’re doing. And if you’re determined enough, things should go in the right direction.
    πŸ˜€ Why not, I mean, if everybody did it, if everybody was willing to help others, the world would be a lot better place.πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

