M5 Crazy Hangover Party

We’re ten. It sure feels like it. I wear worn out clothes, I beg my mom for money, I buy toys and I play all the time. No, wait, perhaps I’m just a photographer… Strike that.

Anyway, our creative team Majestic 5 celebrates its tenth birthday. Yeah! With a concert of some artists we made videos for. It was great, it was loud, it was shaking, and it was dark. There’s nothing worse for a selfproclaimed intelligent ETTL flash than a very high ceiling, lights that hardly beat candles and a hall full of God Scard’s black-haired headbangers wearing black leather cloaks, black boots, black shirts, black pants, black nailpolish, black lipstick (I swear to god they look like they’ve been chewing on a pen cartridge)… But they’re OK. Looks can be deceiving.

Aperion preparing for the concert.

We had a lot of press this time. I wasn’t one of them.🙂 And a lot of photographers. I wasn’t one of them.🙂 No seriously, I was actually PR, but took some pictures, too. This time, most of them really are crap – no shit.

Yeah, we were all tired.

Everything’s yellow, everything’s too dark thanks to my lovely flash. Check this out: when the batteries ran out, I had a new pack with me. Bought it in Mostar last week. Well, I throw them in and the flash doesn’t turn on. OK, so my first choice who to blame were the batteries and a small town in Bosnia. The bastard flash actually made me get into my car and go buy new batteries. Only to discover that the flash is dead. But no, that’s not the end of the story. If it were dead I’d get over it, but the punk was just taking a nap. After about 30 different tries at turning it on, abusing him with pulling batteries in and out, I gave up. After five minutes I tried one more time. And the fuck woke up. Needless to say he needed a threat of being thrown full force into a wall.

Dear Santa, I want a fisheye for Christmas.

Luckily I was too tired to give a damn. And my photos were crappy enough to let it go. Most of them aren’t sharp enough for me. And they’re not exposed right, because nothing really helped. No compensation really did the trick. But I’ve noticed I’m shooting concerts differently than I did before. I’ll scrap up some extra energy next time and use all my skill. Probably.🙂 And technology. No more compromises.

We had a cake!!! Lovely!

Leave a Reply

